Office of Development & Alumni Relations Hosts 32nd Annual John Sherman Myers Society Celebration

On Sept. 23, 2016, the AUWCL Office of Development & Alumni Relations hosted the 32nd Annual John Sherman Myers Society Celebration and Dinner. The event brought together Myers Society and Gold Society members that have generously given to the law school and its students.

The John Sherman Myers Society was established to honor former Dean John Sherman Myers and his wife, Alvina Reckman Myers. Since its inceptions thirty years ago, the Myers Society has had a visible impact on AUWCL students – providing critical funding for scholarships, technological developments, facilities, academic initiatives, and student services.

At this year’s celebration, Myers Society Chair Tom Morante ’77 and American University President Neil Kerwin SPA/BA ’71 welcomed guests to Claudio Grossman Hall. The law school’s Dean Camille Nelson delivered an address entitled, “Looking Forward/Forward Looking,” highlighting the new state-of-the-art Tenley Campus and how it embodies the law school community’s commitment to excellence in education, scholarship, and service.

After dinner and a performance by the Law Revue, Professor Robert Dinerstein presented the Myers Scholarship to Shawnta Albro ’17 and Ann Garcia ’17.

Dean Nelson then honored Leigh Basha ’85 with The Founders Award for her dedication and service to the law school. Basha is a partner at McDermott Will & Emery LLP, and heads the D.C. Private Practice Group, which focuses on domestic and international estate and tax planning. The award commemorates the law school’s pioneering founders Ellen Spencer Mussey and Emma Gillett.


View additional photos