Maryanne Lavan ’84 Named Recipient of 2015 Women and the Law Leadership Award

     Lavan with Dean Grossman and Past Recipients

Maryanne Lavan ’84, senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary for Lockheed Martin, was named recipient of the 2015 Women and the Law Leadership Award from American University Washington College of Law.  The award recognizes the extraordinary accomplishments of alumnae who have made significant contributions to the field of law and/or through their service to the law school. 

Lavan accepted the award at the annual Women and the Law Leadership Luncheon, held March 4 at the law school. The event was hosted by Dean Claudio Grossman and the Women and the Law Leadership Award Committee.  

Professor Ann Shalleck, director of the Women and the Law Program, opened the event. She spoke of the beginnings of the Program, which was developed in a faculty retreat in 1983.

“This shows the foresight of our faculty to identify as a key aspect of our law school a commitment to equality, to inclusion, and to participation of everybody in the life of the law school,” said Shalleck.

Dean Claudio Grossman gave welcoming remarks and recognized past recipients and special guests in attendance.

“Our Founding Mothers would be very pleased to see you here,” said Grossman, who noted AUWCL is an institution created by women who “rolled up their sleeves” in response to inequality.   

Lavan was introduced by classmate and friend Cindy Birnbaum Ronson ’84.  

She has worked for Lockheed Martin for 20 years, serving as assistant general counsel, vice president and general counsel for the Electronic Systems Business Area, vice president of Ethics and Business Conduct, and most recently, as vice president of Internal Audit. Prior to joining Lockheed Martin in 1990, Lavan worked for Pettit and Martin in Washington, D.C., where her practice focused on government contracts and white-collar crime matters. Lavan is a member of the Public Contract Law Section of the American Bar Association. She serves on the governing bodies for the National Chamber Litigation Center, National Cathedral School, and University at Albany Foundation.

In her remarks, Lavan spoke of her own career path and advised students to be genuine, professional, and to help others along the way.

“As you move along in your career, you’ll see people who have helped you,” said Lavan. “You have the responsibility to reach back and help as well. That really should be the continual progress that we make as women.”



Women and the Law Leadership Award Committee Members

Leigh-Alexandra Basha ’85, Partner, Holland & Knight LLP *

The Honorable Dorothy Toth Beasley ’64, Senior Judge, Court of Appeals of Georgia (Retired)*

Pamela M. Deese ’83, Partner, Arent Fox LLP Member, Board of Trustees, American University *

Lia Epperson, Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs at American University Washington College of Law

Jacqueline Jackson’74, U.S. Department of Treasury (Retired)*

Ellen Gleberman ’79, Vice President and General Counsel, Association of International Automobile Manufacturers *

Billie Jo Kaufman, Associate Dean for Library and Information Resources and Professor of Law Washington College of Law

Deborah Kelly ’88, Partner, Dickstein Shapiro LLP *

Karen Lockwood ’78, President and Executive Director, National Institute for Trial Advocacy *

Corrine Parver ’82, Founder, Health Law and Policy Project, Program on Law and Government Washington College of Law (Retired) *

Ann Shalleck, Director, Women and the Law Program, Carrington Shields Scholar and Professor of Law Washington College of Law

Daniela Kraiem, Associate Director, Women and the Law Program Washington College of Law

The Honorable Nan Shuker ’69, Senior Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia (Retired) *

Judy Smith ’85, Founder and President, Smith & Company *

Edna Ruth Vincent ’89, Principal, Colten, Cummins, Watson & Vincent *

Penny Wakefield ’79, Executive Board Member, Center for Human Rights, American Bar Association*

*Past recipients